Greetings From Across the Pond (Vito Cannavo)

I was honored (or should I say honoured) when I was selected to study abroad at the University of Glasgow. I have now been in Glasgow for almost a month. It is an extraordinary city. And it is most certainly a nice change of pace from New York. The surrounding country is astonishing to see. Large grass hills completely surround the city. The people are warm and talkative, especially the taxi drivers. If CNN needs a new political commentator it should look no further than a Glaswegian taxi driver. Anyway, I digress.

As I said I have been here for a month. And in that month I have accomplished a wee bit more than I expected. I won’t go into every detail, but the highlight, so far, has been the people I have encountered. I have encountered students from countries from around the world. I regularly eat dinner in my dorm with Brazilians, Croatians, Singaporeans, to name a few. I have befriended several Swedes and Danes. It’s incredible swapping stories of our homes. Each person gives me a new perspective and new window to the world. I have truly enjoyed speaking with everyone I have met here. But the one person that has truly stood out is my new friend Yoshi.

Yoshi is a 20-year-old engineering student from Kobe, Japan. He was first introduced to me by the Swedes. He is one of the nicest people I have ever met. Obviously English is not his first language. He certainly has some trouble sometimes communicating. Yet, I have yet to see him without a smile. He is a foreigner in every aspect of that word. Yet, he is open and willing to every experience. He is fearless. Living in a far away land. Not entirely understanding the language, the culture, probably even the people. Yet, he is unfazed. His approach to life is a model I should live my own life by. He, as a friend and new acquaintance, is a rewarding learning experience in and of himself.

As far as my formal education. I am taking 4 classes. The classes are smaller in size and more intimate. I am enrolled in Intellectual Property Law, European Legal History, Principles of Healthcare Law, and Institutions and Judicial Control of the EU. I have just finished my second week of classes. The classes have been great. The professors are intelligent and welcome an open discussion. I am hoping to be exposed to new viewpoints and aspects of law that I would not normally encounter. It is already evident that these classes will be a rewarding and novel view of the legal world.

I am really looking forward to this rest of this semester. Thus far I have not been able to travel outside the city as much as I would like, I blame this on the settling in process. But now that classes have begun and I have a good footing, I plan on exploring other parts of this beautiful country. I will be traveling up to the highlands this weekend to ride on the Harry Potter steam train, also known as the Jocobite. Standby for updates on my future adventures.

The University of Glasgow

The University of Glasgow

Leave a Reply

